Search
  • Amanda

Newsletter - Week 3, Term 4

Updated: Nov 14



Kia ora Waitetuna whanau,

It is only 3 weeks until the Waitetuna trail run. This is held on the 21st November - we need help please. This is our one big fundraising event for the year and as the saying goes - ‘Many hands make light work’. Please can you let Lizzie Browne know if you are available to help - even if it is just a small job - it all counts to making sure this event can go ahead and is run smoothly. Thank you for supporting the American Hot dog lunch - to help with the Year 8’s trip to Hillary Outdoors. Calendar art - you will hopefully have seen the order form for calendar art. Your child's art is in the office for your perusal. There are spare order forms at the office. These items make wonderful Christmas presents.


Our Enviro team We continue to work with Jade Penn from Whaingaroa Enviro Centre. Enviro teams from the Senior and Middle room come together on a Friday to work with Jade on our Waitetuna School Enviro philosophy. Like we all are, Jade and his team are looking forward to the garage being finally completed so that they can create our new gardens and learn how to create a vegetable garden from scratch.

The Asthma Foundation sent an educator to school on Wednesday so we could ensure our management of asthma was accurate and up-to-date. If your child is an asthma sufferer it is important that we have an up-to-date action plan for them. Please discuss this with your child’s teacher. It is also important that you let us know if your child’s medical needs have changed.

It is the junior room’s turn for Education Outside the Classroom experiences. Next week they are enjoying a inter-school tabloids day and the following week they are heading to Waitakaruru Arboretum to enjoy some sculpture as part of our Arts term. You will have received notices about these.

The Ministry of Education asked us to continue to ensure that our school community’s contact details are up-to-date. If your contact details have changed can you please let us know.


Reminders:

  • Year 8’s at Hillary Outdoors - week 4

  • Tabloid sports day - Year 1-2 - Fri 6 November

  • Logging truck visiting - 9.15am - Mon 9 November

  • ASB Financial Literacy - 10 November

  • BOT Meeting - Tues 10 November - 5.30pm

  • Junior Trip - Waitakaruru Arboretum - Wed 11 November

  • In class - Read the beach - safety sessions - Fri 13 November

  • Surf lifesaving day - Raglan - whole school - Tues 17 November

  • Cricket festival - Fri 20 November

  • School photos - Fri 20 November

  • Wind farm trail run - Sat 21 November

  • Dog safety talk - Mon 23 November

  • School athletics - Tues 24 November

  • School disco - Thurs 26 November

  • Netball exchange with Te Uku - re-match from last term - 27 November

  • Inter-school athletics day - Mon 30 November

  • Matua X in - Enviro education - 7, 8, 9th December

  • End of Year prize-giving - 5.30pm - Monday 14th December

  • Last day - 16 December - finish at 2pm


Assemblies:

  • 30 October (Week 3)

  • 13 November (Week 5)

  • 27 November (Week 7)

  • 4th December (Week 8)


Bella went to Group day last Friday. Congratulations on your efforts Bella. Results (5 and 6 year olds) - 1st - Rearing, 2nd - Leading, 2nd - Most obvious pet

Term Dates for 2021:

  • Term 1- starts Tuesday 9th February and finishes on Friday 16th April Easter is during term 1 - Good Friday 2nd April, Easter Monday, Easter Tuesday(holiday) - 5th/6th April Anzac day - 25th April (in the school holidays)

  • Term 2- starts Monday 3rd May - finishes Friday 9th July Queen’s birthday - 7th June TOD during Term 2 - TBC

  • Term 3- starts Monday 26th July - finishes Friday 1st October TOD during Term 3 - TBC

  • Term 4- starts Monday 18th October - finishes Friday 17th December

Waitetuna Way award this week go to - ​Canyon Overton, Ayla Gee - for showing determination and always striving to be ‘better than before’. Kia Ora, Amanda Nasilasila




Together we are growing the seeds of success Na tō manaaki, na tōku manaaki, ka puāwai mai nga kākano

3 views

Contact us

Tel: 07 8255827

Email: office@waitetuna.school.nz

Address 

129 Waitetuna Valley Road

Raglan 3295

© Copyright Waitetuna School 2020

Website Design and Development by DESIGN FOLK

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon